The Society of Composers and Lyricists Annual Oscar Nominee Champagne Reception

Posted on February 22, 2015 by Dan Goldwasser

The Society of Composers and Lyricists (SCL) held their annual champagne reception honoring the Oscar nominees in the Best Score and Best Song categories. This year the festivities were held at La Boheme in West Hollywood, and we’re pleased to bring you a little look at the shindig!

The crowd enjoys the festivities at La Boheme

Three of the four "Best Original Score" nominees were present All of the Original Score nominees were present: Alexandre Desplat (The Grand Budapest Hotel, The Imitation Game), Gary Yershon (Mr. Turner) and Johann Johannsson (The Theory of Everything). Hans Zimmer (Interstellar) was not in attendance.

Film Music Society’s Marilee Bradford, Oscar nominee Alexandre Desplat and film music historian/journalist Jon Burlingame (photo by Kaya Savas)

ASCAP’s Jeff Jernigan, nominee Gary Yershon and publicist Beth Krakower

Academy governor Charles Bernstein and Oscar nominee Johann Johannsson (photo by Kaya Savas)

Most of the "Best Original Song" nominees were also present: Shawn Patterson ("Everything Is Awesome" from The Lego Movie), Lonnie Lynn (aka Common) ("Glory" from Selma), Dianne Warren ("Grateful" from Beyond the Lights), Julian Raymond ("I’m Not Gonna Miss You" from Glen Campbell… I’ll Be Me) and Gregg Alexander and Danielle Brisebois ("Lost Stars" from Begin Again). Unable to attend were John Stephens (aka John Legend) and Glen Campbell, but Campbell’s wife Kim attended on his behalf.

Song nominees Danielle Brisebois, Shawn Patterson, Diane Warren with score nominee Alexandre Desplat

Song nominees Common, Danielle Brisebois and Shawn Patterson

Academy Music Branch governor Charles Bernstein introduced the reception, and SCL President Ashley Irwin presented the nominees to the audience, as well as a lovely parting gift of a commemorative conducting baton.

Academy governor Charles Bernstein introduces the nominees (photo by Kaya Savas)

SCL President Ashley Irwin (photo by Kaya Savas)

Clockwise from top-left: Johann Johannsson, Julian Raymond, Gary Yershon, Gregg Alexander, Danielle Brisebois, Lonnie Lynn (aka Common), Alexandre Desplat, Ashley Irwin, Diane Warren, Shawn Patterson, Kim Campbell and Charles Bernstein (photo by Kaya Savas)

The winners will be announced tonight when the Academy Awards air on ABC.

You've only seen 10 images - click here for 6 more scoring session images for this project!